top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

6 Tips to Stay on Top of New Releases

Updated: Jul 19, 2021

Hey everyone! Today's post is a little bit of spontaneous burst and Iis helpful. Here I have put together a few tips and ideas on how you can be up-to-date on all the newly released or upcoming new books. This might be especially useful for book reviewers or bookish content creators, speaking from experience. I really hope you find this post helpful.

So without further ado, let's get into it.



 


TWITTER- Believe it or not, if you can take a few simple steps to curate your feed, scrolling endlessly can end up with a couple of good outcomes.

  • Be sure to follow all your favorite authors, publishing houses, and sites like Epic Reads, Book Riot, and such.

  • Following all the publishers that you're interested in will give you a lot more specifically related tweets on your feed, and will many times make you come across a lot of debut authors that you might have been otherwise late to hear about.


BOOK RIOT PODCASTS AND NEWSLETTER- Book Riot is honestly a life-saver. They have an incredibly wide range of newsletters and podcasts, plus a YouTube Channel that you can always count on to give you the best bookish news.

  • There's a dedicated podcast and newsletter for every genre. I highly recommend following any or all these, whatever you most enjoy doing, and maybe give them a follow on their social media.

  • Its one of the best resources when it comes to books, and inspiration whenever you feel low on ideas or lacking in your TBR.


NETGALLEY- Alright, so I know that this option is a lot more specific to bookish content creators, since you do need to have a platform, but it's still an immensely easy to get to know about upcoming titles. Even if you're not looking to request any books, NetGalley is all about new releases.

  • It's also very convenient because you get to know all the details, like the release date, publisher and author at just one click. Personally I find it a really tedious to individually search for the release date or the publisher whenever I am interested in an upcoming book.


PUBLISHER NEWSLETTERS- Go to the specific imprint of a publisher that you like, and subscribe to their newsletter service because they always send out regular emails to their readers, informing them about all the bookish buzz that is going on, and you get all your shiny new releases in one place.

For example, my biggest love is fantasy and sci-fi, so it makes sense for me to subscribe to the Tor Teen newsletter service, since they cater to my very specific interests.


FOLLOW OTHER BOOKISH CONTENT CREATORS- Creating content is a street that goes two ways. There are some amazing people and communities out there that can be easiest source of inspo and ideas, as well as friendships. Follow content creators on any platform that you love using, be it TikTok, Instagram, YouTube or blogs. A lot of bloggers put out monthly, and even weekly lists of books that are coming out, and you can hype them up and get excited about them together and make the process a lot more fun and interactive.


KEEP TRACK- I have developed this new habit that I take note whenever I find out about an upcoming book that I am interested in. I have a page on Notion where I record all the relevant details that I would need later if I want to request it for an ARC or write about on my blog.

Of course, you need not be as neurotic as me, and just make a note in your notebook or anywhere you make your notes (if not Notion, then an Excel Sheet will do the job), so that you have all your new releases and the relevant info handy.

I learned his little trick from a Book Riot, so now you see how useful that is.)

Here's a small example of my set-up:



 

Let's Chat!

So that was it for today. Let me know in the comments what you thought? Did this post help you in any way? Are there more ways to do it that I have missed?


I hope you enjoyed reading,

Until next time,

Bye!

22 views0 comments
bottom of page