top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

BOOK REVIEW- The Wolf at the Door by Charlie Adhara- A new all-time favorite series

Updated: Mar 12, 2022

Hi everyone!

Today I'm so excited to FINALLY be talking about a series that has recently become an all-time favorite. I completed all the six books in the amazing Big Bad Wolf series by Charlie Adhara, a series that I had no idea would end up becoming such a huge a favorite and so close to my heart.


And now, when I have all my feelings about it together in a coherent review, I'm so excited to share it with you all!



Synopsis


Hunting for big bad wolves was never part of Agent Cooper Dayton’s plan, but a werewolf attack lands him in the carefully guarded Bureau of Special Investigations. A new case comes with a new partner: ruggedly sexy werewolf Oliver Park.


Park is an agent of The Trust, a werewolf oversight organization working to ease escalating tensions with the BSI. But as far as Cooper’s concerned, it’s failing. As they investigate a series of mysterious deaths unlike anything they’ve seen, every bone in Cooper’s body is suspicious of his new partner—even when Park proves himself as competent as he is utterly captivating.


When more people vanish, pressure to solve the case skyrockets. And though he’d resolved to keep things professional, Cooper’s friction with Park soon erupts…into a physical need that can’t be contained or controlled. But with a body count that’s rising by the day, werewolves and humans are in equal danger. If Cooper and Park don’t catch the killer soon, one—or both—of them could be the next to go.


 

My Review


MY RATING- ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I remeber when I started this series last year on a complete impulse after seeing the synopsis and one amazing review on Goodreads and I swear it was one of the best choices I made.


I love this series. I completed the first three installments one after the other and enjoyed every single one of them. I didn't give a single book a rating less than 5 stars. Every single book in the series is always satisfying in a different way, yet it always handles all the mix of themes and genres perfectly.


"Murder was like getting a tattoo. The first one you carefully ask yourself why; each one after you ask yourself why not?"

For example- The series as a whole is a paranormal thriller + murder mystery + romance and I love the way the author gives each of those aspects a chance to take the spotlight, while still not completely ignoring the consequences of the other plot lines.


I was equally enjoying the mystery/thriller aspects of it as much as the romantic aspect of it. Which I am not gonna hold myself back from ranting about.

Despite the murders and disappearances and crazy scientists, the story has an adorable feel-good quality to it and it's always a fun read to indulge in.


"My name's Oliver. Though if you want to call me Pretty Eyes Park again, I promise I’ll still come running."

characters


The main protagonists are, Cooper Dayton and Oliver Park; the story mostly being in the perspective of Cooper, our very own BSI agent- as prickly as a porcupine and with lots of emotional baggage.


On the other hand, Oliver Park is a werewolf. He is calm, collected and there is an instant spark between the two. He is not a memeber of the BSI, but has come to assist them in a special case.

There are sinister disappearances going on in a small town and there is speculation that it might be werewolf- related, which is why Park is on this case.


"Now you've done it. I'm about to emote all over you."

what's the damn plot?


There is a different mystery in every book, and can be read as standalones, but if you want to move forward in the series, the incidents also interconnect and their effects and references bleed into the next books.


I also have never seen such authentic, realistic and well done development of a relationship between two characters as I have done in this series. Every book builds on their relationship in a different way and we see both of them grow immensely. We explore all the stages of a relationship, from tentative glances tk meeting the parents. There is no lack of issues- internal or external, that they have to work through to be together, but every single moment between the two is so tender and sweet and heartwarming.


But the two also have the most amazing banter and sardonic remarks that will pull a good chuckle or laugh out of you for sure.


"You're not a very pleasant damsel in distress,” Park remarked.
“And you’re a shitty Lassie. Timmy never had to wait this long when he fell a well."

the themes and my favorite stuff


It also does some unique things thematically that I appreciate, majorly about looking after your mental health, PTSD, Paranoia, and even really dissecting the stereotypical "alpha" roles and personalities and breaking those preconceived notions.


Personally, I have never been a huge fan of the "alpha" trope, but since this whole series is centred around werewolves, it was kind of inevitable. Surprisingly, I love love loved what the author did with that trope, discussing it in a very straightforward way and leaving no room for anyone to misunderstand it.


But all of that aside, I think the main highlight was the action and investigative mystery aspect, as well as to the heaps and heaps of tension and angst that comes with past traumas, secrets and two people who are very bad at communicating and yet are in love with each other.


I don't even say that lightly. Cooper and Park would rather chew bullets than be vulnerable with their feelings. Not because of toxic masculinity, but just genuinely because they have grown up, especially Park, in very emotionally hostile environments and it is something that they really, really have to work at throughout their relationship.


I just- I love this series so much. It gives me everything I want- action and intrigue, soft moments and banter, and just a good touch of magic to keep to my tastes.


"What stage of love was it when another person became a habit? How quickly had the mere background hum of another person's life become such an essential fixture of the house that its absence felt like a robbery? Like their home had been gutted and he was left drifting around the remains..."
 

Time to Chat!

I hope you enjoyed this post. Thank you so much for reading! Let me know in the comments about your recent favorite series! I'd love to know your thoughts. 😊


Until next post,

Bye!



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page