top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

BOOK TOUR- Down to Earth- Interview and Top 5 Reasons to Read This Book

Updated: Aug 30, 2021

Hey everyone! Welcome back to another post. Today I have another book tour post for you, but this time it is a middle-grade novel.


I'm a mainly YA reader, and bounce back and forth between Adult and New Adult, but as I grew up I started reading less and less of middle-grade, even though I love it just as much.


But I feel that Down to earth is a wonderful book that you can enjoy no matter what your ahr or genre preference is, so let me walk you through the Top 5 reasons You Should read This Book!


Click the banner to see the other blog stops for this tour.

 

MY RATING- 🌟🌟🌟🌟


Genre: Middle Grade

Publishing Date: August 24, 2021

Purchase Links- Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depositry


Synopsis: Counting by 7's meets See You in the Cosmos in this heartwarming coming-of-age story perfect for the budding geologists and those fascinated by the mysteries of the universe.

Henry has always been fascinated by rocks. As a home-schooler, he pours through the R volume of the encyclopedia to help him identify the rocks he finds. So, when a meteorite falls in his family’s field, who better to investigate than this rock enthusiast–with his best friend, James, and his little sister, Birdie, in tow, of course.


But soon after the meteorite’s arrival, the water in Henry’s small Maine town starts drying up. It’snot long before news spreads that the space rock and Henry’s family might be to blame. Henry is determined to defend his newest discovery, but his knowledge of geology could not have prepared him for how much this stone from the sky would change his community, his family, and even himself.


Science and wonder abound in this middle-grade debut about an inquisitive boy and the massive rock that came down to Earth to reshape his life.

 

Top 5 Reasons to Read Down to Earth


Reason #1- The characters are delightful and warm. Our protagonist, Henry, is a curious and earnest boy who loves to learn. His relationship with his family, his love for his little sister and his best friend, James are so wholesome.

The sheer innocence and warm feelings that the characters here gave me are the reason why I love middle-grade so much. Reason #2- Admittedly, even though the story is very slow moving, the writing is very beautiful. It's not too flowery or complicated, but just a perfect blend of comforting and soothing. You'll flow through the lages once you begin. Reason #3- I truly believe that even though this book is middle-grade, readers of all ages can enjoy this. I really appreciated the portrayal of love, family bonds, friendship and community. It also shows its readers how, in a world where we always need a reason for something to happen, some things just happen and little miracles exist in the tiniest things if we look for them.


CLICK THE ABOVE IMAGE TO TAKE A LOOK AT MY BOOKSTAGRAM PICTURE FOR THIS TOUR!

Reason #4- I loved the rich sense of support and acceptance through the book as the protagonist leans on his family and his family leans on their neighbours in a difficult time. It has some important lessons imbibed in the story that anyone can benefit from. Reason #5- I also loved the science included in the story. It will be a blast for all space nerds and rock enthusiasts. It's not too heavy, but just enough to amaze you with fascinating facts about space, meteors and geology.


 

Interview Time!


1) Aamna- When did you get the first seed of the idea for this story?

Betty- Thanks for asking! When I first read an article in the New York Times about meteorites and saw these lines:

“The Clackamas Indians held the meteorite to be a sacred object and believed that a union occurred of the earth, sky and water when it rested in the ground and rainwater collected in its many folds and basins.”

It is now the quote in the beginning of chapter 22 in DOWN TO EARTH. Also, when I was Henry’s age, I saw the Ahnighito meteorite in the Museum of Natural History in New York City.

2) Aamna- If you had to write a sequel or a prequel for one of the characters in the book, who would it be?

Betty- I love this question! I’ve actually thought about writing a prequel with Henry’s two uncles and father in it. It would show what it was like for them growing up on Bower Hill Road, and how they each found, or didn’t find, their dowsing abilities. If I wrote a sequel, it might tell Henry’s sister Birdie’s story.

3) Aamna- What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Betty- I’m not sure if you’d call it a quirk, but when I’m drafting a book, I start out at my desk in the morning, then sometime during the day I move to the kitchen table. By evening, I’m usually on a cushion on the floor.

4) Aamna- What do you like to do when you're not writing?

Betty- In the summer I like to swim in our farm pond. It is spring fed and has never gone dry. In the winter I like to snowshoe or curl up and read a good book!

5) Aamna- And the last question, what are you currently reading?

Betty- I’m actually reading a non-fiction book called ‘Meteorite: How Stones from Outer Space Made Our World’ by Tim Gregory.


Aamna- Aah, thank you so much for so graciously answering all my questions, and thank you for your time! I hope this story does wonders when it comes out in the world.

 

About the Author


BETTY Culley's debut novel in verse Three Things I Know I True, was a Kids’ Indie Next List Top Ten Pick, an ALA-YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee, an ALA-YALSA Quick Pick, and a Junior Library Guild selection.


Her first middle-grade novel Down to Earth, is inspired by her fascination with meteorites, voyagers from another place and time. She’s an RN who worked as an obstetrics nurse and as a pediatric home hospice nurse. She lives in central Maine, where the rivers run through the small towns.



 

Let's Chat!

Wohoo! That was a mouthful of post today. I had so much doing it and I hope you liked it as well. Thank you so much for reading! Don't forget to let me know your thoughts in the comments. Do you read a lot of middle-grade? Would you recommend this books to a younger friend? I would lone any recommendations you have for me as well!


Until next time,

I hope you have a great rest of your day,

Bye!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page