top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

Popular Books I didn't like...

Updated: Oct 28, 2020


Get ready for me to trash some of your favs...


Hey Bibliophiles!!

Today I'm here to talk to you about some Popular Books I Didn't Like, because if you see the majority of my blog, you'll notice that I love taking about the things I loved and enjoyed, but it's also really fun to talk about things you hate once in a while. I also know that it can be very isolating at times to know that you don't feel the same way about some extremely popular books in the book-blogging community, so I thought that I should compile a list of some of my unpopular opinions and share them with you all.

Now I am not gonna put a disclaimer on this post because if you're reading this, you wanna know my unpopular opinions and you know that I don't intend to hurt anyone's feelings, so here goes...

The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer- This is probably my most hated book of all time, which is very unusual for me because I rarely hate a book. But yes, this is one of those rarities. And if you know me, you would know that I absolutely loved the book at the time I read it, and then, I read Breaking Dawn. And it completely shattered the love I had for this book. It completely destroyed me and I haven't been able to get over it since.


As many of you may know, Twilight was a huge part of my middle-school life. It completely changed me and introduced me to YA. I read the first three books so quickly and was looking forward to reading this one soo much because literally everyone I know said that it was the best book in the series.......it was the perfect conclusion.....it was epic....blah...blah blah...so I had really high expectations for this book. And then I read it (which was my biggest mistake) and it honestly destroyed the entirety of the Twilight series for me!!


So now when I read this book again, I have so may problems with it, but the biggest problem I have with it, aside from the other problematic things about it (Spoiler Alert!!) is the fact that Jacob imprinted on Renesmee!!!

You have to know this- I loved Jacob's character and obviously, I shipped Bella and Edward, but his relationship with Bella was such a significant part of the stoThey.ry.. were one of my favourite parts of the book but CAN SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN TO ME how can you take away their entire relationship and just base it off of the fact that he imprints on her non-existent unborn "child"!!! WHAT??!! WHAT PURPOSE DOES THAT SERVE?? I can't deal with that! It honestly makes me so angry......It made so mad and I am not kidding, when I read that part, I legitimately threw the book across the room and screamed!!

So, yeah, I still hate this book, I'll forever hate this book....It's the bane of my existence!!

(BTW, how useless a character is Bella?? Like she just sits around and waits for things to happen??)


Alright, moving on........

.

Looking for Alaska by John Green - I honestly wasn't planning on reading this, but just one day one I decided to give it a try and unfortunately ended up really...really, really not liking it! Honestly, I had very low expectations for this book, like the bar was set pretty low for what I would think of this book and yet...it didn't even meet that bar. Like it was not good. At all. And I am very sad about that because I really wanted to like all of John Green's book.

I read the Fault in our Stars a long while ago and I really liked it. I read Turtles all the Way Down and adored it. But Looking for Alaska just didn't click with me. So somehow I got through this book, despite the fact that I wanted to trash it so many times.

So if you don't know what this book is about, it follows the story of this boy named Miles who transfers to this boarding school and meets this girl named Alaska and falls in love with her basically only because he thinks she's hot. Miles and his roommate, Alaska and a couple other of their friends smokejust lots of cigarettes, drink lots of alcohol...and nothing else really happens!!

And the thing that makes it so boring for me is that it has got no plot until the very end of the book when ONE climactic thing happens which I expected from the start.

And the surprising thing is that even though I like slow-paced books and tend to gravitate towards more character-development than plot and action, I just felt that the whole book was just Miles supposedly "learning" things, which I don't even get what he's learning!?? Like I feel like he didn't learn a thing from beginning to end. Like he started smoking cigarettes and he made some new friends....Yeah, I think that's about it.

Miles had no personality. Neither did his friends. Alaska was a 100% manic pixie dream girl!!

I think the 2 worst things about the book was 1) Just Miles as a character. Like he was terrible. Just terrible. And 2) The way Alaska was portrayed. Like, see the description -

The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up and utterly fascinating Alaska Young.

The problem is that Alaska exists in this book just as a prop for Miles to develop man pain and "grow" as a character. And that's basically it.

So yeah, I really didn't like this one, although I really wanted to. This was just such a disappointment. But this also tells me that I don't need to love all of an author's work, as I really like John Green as a person.



Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher- I know, I know...everyone loves it...it is about a very important topic, but just hear me out okay? The thing is that I had really high expectations from this book, and although I do like aspects of it, I just don't like the way it discusses the topic and the message it sends to all of the people who are struggling with depression and anxiety. As I said, I do like some bits of it- I like Hannah's perspective in the story. The fact that we get an insight into her mind is incredible! But I really thought that Clay's perspective was just unnecessary. I think that suicide is a difficult topic to discuss, but it is also a topic that needs to be discussed. And I do like that it starts conversations. I just don't agree with the way it goes about it. There is the message that it sends- that suicide is just a way of taking revenge on your peers, or that she keeps blaming them for her suicide.....No. That idea just doesn't sit well with me. I think that the Netflix series did a better job here in portraying them as truly human. I also feel that it just didn't explore the topic of depression like, at allt It didn't talk about how you can always approach people for help.

So yeah, again, I would not recommend reading this as I think there are much better books like The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R.Pan, Radio Silence by Alice Oseman, and Sadie by Courtney Summers that handle the topic very well.


Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling- (Don't come at me with pitchforks, please!!)

Ok, so I know that there are a a lot of really divided opinions on this one as I actually know a lot of people who hate this book as much as I do, but there are many people who absolutely love it. It's technically considered the 8th Harry Potter book, but I do not consider it that. At all.

If you (surprisingly?) don't know what this book is about, it is basically the story of the children of the characters in the Harry Potter series, so it takes place after the Battle of Hogwarts and all the events of the original series. We follow around their children as......things happen and that's the best way I can describe it because this book is such a mess!! My favorite booktuber, Clockwork Reader has a full spoilery review for it if you've already read the book and hated it it as much as I did, then trust me you'll love her ranting about it for 30 minutes straight!!

So getting back to the review......

As I said, this book is a complete and utter mess. Nothing in this book makes sense and it's as if they didn't read the first seven Harry Potter books and just decided to write this one based off of some fan fiction out of fanfiction.net. Which brings me to say the whole thing is like, a terrible fan fiction...It is full of plot holes, the characterisation is just all wrong...the characters regress instead of developing and it seems like it can never truly decide whether it wants to be a drama or a comedy!! The writing is just bad. That's the only word I have for it- Its just bad.

The things is that it's not even written by J.K.Rowling. She helped come up with the idea but I'm pretty sure it's written by Jack Thorne and some other person.....??

And you know, whenever I talk about how bad the writing is, I always quote this one line that I am not even sure how got through editing and was allowed to be published in a work, especially a work this popular!! (No spoilers here)

It is that one scene when Albus and Scorpious are together and they're trying to figure out what to do and they see Bathilda Bagshot and Scorpious says, "Wow! Squeak. My geekness is a-quivering." WHAT?? JUST WHAT!!?? I truly do not understand this book. This play is honestly a wild ride (no pun intended)!!

Just the fact that it exists and is trying to claim the 8th Harry Potter title makes me so upset!! There are still so many things that happen in here that I still can't even wrap my mind around. And this one didn't essentially make me mad...it is just hilarious to me now, like I laugh at it!!

So yeah, if you wanna keep loving Harry Potter, don't read this one.


Divergent series by Veronica Roth- This is again another very well-loved book, but I have to say, this is one of my least favourite popular YA books or books in general....and the thing is that there was nothing glaringly wrong about it to me...I just thought that it was okay-ish...but the extreme hype that surrounded it was what the thing that really got on my nerves because I feel that it just gets more hype than it deserves. Everyone in my class was like, "Oh, you should read it...it's awesome and its gonna be the next Hunger Games...", but unfortunately, I was hugely disappointed when I read this series. It was a job for me to even get till the last book. I mean, of course I liked the whole concept of people being divided into factions and stuff, but it just felt too flat for me. I wasn't a huge fan of dystopian at that time, so maybe that had something to contribute towards my dislike of the book, but the writing wasn't also very good...And I didn't even care for the characters that much, like I just didn't care what happened to them. I didn't like Tris as a character. I just didn't understand her motivations and the decisions she made. They didn't make any sense to me and I thought that she was very irrational, even though we were supposed to think that she was doing the right thing.....? I wasn't able to fully immerse myself in the book...And there were so many gaps that I had to fill when I imagined it because of the world-building.

And possibly the worst thing that could happen in the entire series was the ending. LIKE WHAT!!? I mean, EXCUSE ME?? You are trying to say that I dragged myself across the whole series for THIS!! ( I'm not gonna go into spoilers and tell you what the ending is, because trust me, you don't wanna know....)

So yeah, I think there is much better dystopian out there if you're really into it, and I wouldn't recommend reading this.


Matched Series by Allie Condie- Again, it was a very, very, very hard book to get to the end of because of it was so dull and so bland that I had to honestly drag myself through it. If you don't know what this book is about, it follows the story of this girl named Cassie who lives in a world where the government or the Society controls every aspect of you life. They decide what you eat, where you live, what you do, who you marry, how many kids you have and when you die. So when Cassie is 16, she is Matched with her best friend, Xander, and she is supposed to be really happy, but when she starts falling for someone else, that's when the book starts rolling. And honestly, I enjoyed the first book, and I loved the whole idea of the world in which it was set in, but then I got to Crossed, and it was basically Cassie moving around in a desert and nothing more, so I somehow got to the last page and vowed to never touch it again.

It is another dystopian novel, but more centred around the romance, which I don't even want to call it that because it had no meaning to it. The writing tried really hard to be angsty, but it just couldn't pull it of.



So that was it for The Popular Books I Didn't Like.....let me know in the comments down below what you thought of this post. Do you also hate any any of the books on this list? Do you like them? What are some of your unpopular opinions?? Share your thoughts with me...Recommend some books for me that you loved and I will get back with you with some even more bookish content.


Stay Home ans Stay Safe

Your Best Bookish Friend,

Aamna






67 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page