top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

Top 5 Tuesday- 5 Adaptations Better than the Books

Updated: May 18, 2021

Hey everyone! Today I’m so happy to be doing the Top 5 Tuesday Book Meme, which is hosted by the wonderful Meeghan at MeeghanReads. So how this works is that, we have a list of topics, one for every Tuesday, and we have to share any 5 things that we know that fit the theme. And the topic for this Tuesday is “5 Adaptations Better than The Books.”

And of course, although I am a huge bookworm, and almost always love the books better than their movies or series, there have been a couple of times when I did enjoy the adaptation more than the book. It doesn’t happen often, but it does happen. Alright! Enough chit chat! Time to talk about some series or movies that I enjoyed more than their books...




1) Shadow and Bone @ Netflix (book by Leigh Bardugo)


Alright, the jury is out now, and after a lot of debate with my internal bookworm, I've decided that I enjoyed the series more than the book.


It wasn't even a huge difference. it's not that I hated the book, or disliked it in any way. I definitely enjoyed it. I just thought that when it comes to a few things, the series with a better job.


When me and my friends were talking about it, quite a few things came up. Like, how the series did a better job of humanizing the Darkling, and I kind of found Mal way less annoying in the series than in the book, and it was just incredible how seamlessly the new plot line for for the Crows was integrated with the Shadow and Bone.

It did have a few hiccups here and there, but I really appreciated how closely it stuck to the plot line of the book.


If you know me, you'll know that I am a huge fan of the books, and you can check out my review for the Six of Crows duology here.


Controversies about the stunt doubles aside, I thought the casting was great... the costumes was stunning and the CGI effects were well-done.


So all things considered, even as someone who really like the books and kept comparing the two, I think I enjoyed the series more.


The books are a lot more younger in tone, and Alina is still a teenage girl even with the magic system so if you weren't a huge fan of that in the books, I'd still recommend watching the series.


2) My Sister's Keeper (book by Jodi Picoult)


If you're looking for a movie that will make you ball your eyes out, look no further. My Sister's Keeper, in book form, was nice; but the writing, I felt, didn't do it justice. The movie, though, is devastating from beginning to end.


IMDB Description: Anna Fitzgerald looks to earn medical emancipation from her parents who until now have relied on their youngest child to help their leukemia-stricken daughter Kate remain alive.


This story is so heart-breaking, and the acting is Oscar-worthy to me, personally. The way that Cameron Diaz just embodies her character, and you can just feel the desperation and pain on her face. She plays a mother who is doing everything she can to make her elder daughter, Kate, who has leukemia, live; but she has to go against one daughter to fight for the survival of another.


So I'd like to convince anyone who would listen, to go watch this movie. I mean you can read the book if that appeals to you, but I feel that the movie is so much more wholesome.


3) The Vampire Diaries (book by Lisa Jane Smith)


So I know it's a change in topic compared to what I was talking about earlier, but this post is admittedly very chaotic.


It's a bit of an anomaly in this list as well since I'll be the first to admit that I haven't read the books. And I also don’t personally know a lot of people who have. Its not like nobody has read the books. Obviously a lot of people have read the books and enjoyed them, which is why it was adapted in the first place. I just really have yet to meet someone who was gushing about the books as much as people *everyone I know* do about the series.

I‘m sure that if you go to any random teenager at my school and ask them what they thought of Vampire Diaries, you’d be listening to them for hours. But when it comes to me personally, I am not a huge fan of the series, like I just can’t stand Elena! I mean, no offence to anyone who has her as their favourites, but I just...I just like her as much as I would Bella Swan from Twilight.


For me, the series is just the trashy, pure entertainment kind of fun. Because you have to admit, when every single character in the series had died and come back from the dead at least once or twice, you just stop trying to find logic.


But anyway, inspite all of that ranting above, I still think the adaptation is way, way better than the books.


(And you are, of course welcome to form your own opinions and share them with me below in the comments 😉)

4) Game of Thrones (book by George R. R. Martin)


Ok, I’ll be honest here. I haven’t watched all the seasons yet, and I don’t really think I will be. But from what I have seen of it, I highly enjoyed it. Admittedly, the CGI effects weren’t amazing the first season, but we can say that from where, as it’s budget rose, so did the quality. It when it comes to the books, I think it purely comes down to personal preferences. I am a very character-driven reader, and even though the I loved the characters in the story, the writing style and the heavy descriptions really weren’t for me.

I just find that the series is so much more accessible and easy to get through compared to the books. I only read A Song of Ice and Fire, the first book in the series, and then jumped to watching the series. I think I might still o e day pick up the books when I’m in the mood, because since then, I have really started to read more of adult fantasy, so let’s see where I’m at when I finish the books.

But as of now, I love the adaptation.


5) To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before @ Netflix (book by Jenny Han)


Remind me why I haven’t reviewed this series yet? When I got into this (book) series, I was really hesitant because I thought that it would be really cheesy and cliche, and it was a little cheesy, but it was also so adorable! And then I watched the movies...and it just went higher up two tiers. I really appreciate how closely this stuck to the source material, and the casting felt so accurate, so like how I imagined the characters in my head. The actors did a really good job. I love Lara Jean so much! 💖 Watching her on screen just made her so much more relatable funny.

There’s nothing wrong with the book. I would highly recommend it, but the books just have a whole new life to it. The scenes come alive so perfectly, and they are so cute to watch. So you

know, go read the books and watch the series. They’re both incredible!


Honourable Mention -


 

Let’s Chat!


Alright, that was it for my post today. Let me know if you enjoyed it in the comment!

What are some of your movies recommendations? Any adaptations you find better than the series? Do we have any similar opinions on any of these? I’d love to chat!

Until then,

I hope everyone stays safe,

Bye!


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BOOK TOUR- Hatchet Girls by Diana Rodriguez

Synopsis For fans of Kara Thomas and Courtney Summers comes a supernatural horror that reminds us family can be our saving grace--or our biggest curse. Set one-hundred years after the Borden murders,

ARC REVIEW- Foul Lady Fortune by Chloe Gong

Can a person ever go wrong with Chloe Gong though? I don't care that someone or the other will probably come to me and say "oh, but she's only published 3 books", I will forever stand by the fact that

bottom of page