top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

Why Representation is important for young writers

Updated: Aug 26, 2022

Aside from the glorification of the west in general, there remains the fact that most mainstream media does not cater to or do justice to other ethnicities and identities.


Hi everyone!

Today's post is a discussion-slash-rant on my experiences as a young person in the writing community. I've always been an avid reader, and somehow that also evoked the love of creating my own stories in me.


There have been a lot of conversations around why the representation of all diverse identities- be it POC, the specially-abled, LGBTQ+ community, or any kind of marginalized community- is important in literature.


One of the things that resonated with me the most was how books are not supposed to just be one thing- a window or a mirror. But both.

Escapism is well and good, but sometimes a reader needs that reflection of themselves between the pages.

And although seeing yourself is important, there needs to be space to learnabiut other's experiences as well.


As an Indian kid who read too many books for her own good, there was always an apparent shortage of reading material. And the material I did have didn't contribute much to inspiring the budding writer in me.


Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan was the first book where I found Muslim representation in the Young Adult genre- the first book that I read where a Muslim character offers Salah (prayer) on-page.

That little moment, although insignificant in the larger scheme of things for the story, stuck with me.

It flipped a switch inside my brain. "Oh, this is actually possible. I can do this."


Afterward, I went on to look for books more intentionally. That's when I found books like An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, and We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal.

It was strange how every character I had conjured up inside my head looked nothing like me.

White, blonde, or golden-haired.

Never like me.


Oh, and also lived in New York.


And when I sat down to actually write those into a story, I had a problem. Because, frankly, my 13-year-old self had no idea how the American school system worked or why the names of their classes were called freshman, sophomore, junior and not simply 9th, 10th, 11th.


There's something terribly sad about thinking that a self-insert in stories you love isn't possible.

No matter how much research I did, I couldn't get it right. And for years since, this has always been a hindrance to my storytelling. I just couldn't fathom that a brown Muslim girl could go on a quest fighting monsters and also be worried about her prayers.

But seeing myself represented in a story I loved gave me the confidence that I could also go forward and write a YA fantasy about an Indian Muslim girl and not have to Google "How many periods do American schools have?"


Don't get me wrong; there's nothing more amazing than learning about others through reading.


I would not have an understanding of the experiences of a Black person in America had I not read the right books. I would not have felt connected to the collective Asian experience had I not read books like Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen, Made in Korea by Sarah Sulk, Cafe Con Lychee by Emery Lee, etc.

But when you are writing, especially as a beginner, you need to collect and present your own experiences as well. And seeing yourself represented in stories makes you feel that your narrative is also credible and gives you the confidence you need in order to create your own stories, where you feel at home.`



A recent book I've been loving is The City Inside by Samit Basu, which explores a futuristic version of Delhi. I find it so fascinating because I wish someone had told me when I was younger that if I do the proper research, I don't need to restrict myself to writing a YA mystery or fantasy or romance in France or London or the USA, but that Mumbai or Assam or Kerala are just as viable options. It is also great if I want to write about a brown girl wearing a hijab with a magnifying glass and sword.


So I guess this is my very long-winded, tangential way of saying that if you've ever felt that your identity is not worth telling stories about, you're not reading the right books.


Time to Chat!

I really hope you all liked this post, and you took away something good from this. I'd love to know all of your thoughts about it. You can connect with me on any of my social media linked on the home page! ☺️

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to get through Writer's Block

Hello fellow writers!! I hope that everyone is safe and and doing well (at least as much as we can in these difficult times) Like everyone else, I too am staying at home because of the nationwide lock

bottom of page