top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

Top 10 MAGICAL OBJECTS I would and (wouldn't want) from the Harry Potter Universe

Hey book-dragons!

So while I was clearing out my old Harry Potter volumes to donate, I couldn't help but bubble up with nostalgia and my love for this series. How many have we all dreamed of receiving that acceptance letter from Hogwarts and boarding the magical train? How many times have we wished for just a small piece of this world to turn real?

Once I got to thinking, I tried to make s list of all the cool magical objects that I would want from the world of Harry Potter. And then maybe some things that, even I could have, I would chose not to...because not all magic is worth the trouble.

So without further ado, let's have a look!



1) Dumbledore's PENSIEVE- Remember that big bowl/basin thing where Snape kept all his secrets? Yeah, I want that. Sometimes when my brain feels too overloaded with information and tumultuous feelings and questions, a Pensieve would be a damn useful thing to have in your room. I mean journaling and talking works, right? But why waste all that energy when you can just take a wand, point it at your head and just....SWIISH!

Right before a rest, I would just wave my wand and my mind would be free of all the clutter I don't want, and it would be a hell of a way to re-listen to a lecture. See! Practical.


2) Felix FELICIS- This little bottle of liquid luck could be useful in so many situations. Introduced in Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince by Professor Slughorn, this is quite the meme among the Potterheads and I certainly wouldn't mind tweaking my chances to get things right with this little bit of magic.


3) The Time-turner- Can you imagine how easy life would be if just have even a little bit of control over time? I don't know about you, but I sure would love to twits and turn time around a little. Maybe to visit places that I don't ever have the time to, get that last bit of revision done before an exam, or maybe just simply take some out for myself to binge and relax. Also, maybe just go back and stop myself from doing all the embarrassing stuff that I now can't erase.

4) Instant Portkeys- It would be so convenient, and environment-friendly of course, if we could just cancel out the journey from home to school and from office to home and (the library and the mall...) zip, zap! from here to there. Imagine the amount of time, fuel and effort that could be saved!


5) Harry's Firebolt- Throw out the planes! Make way for the broom!! I can just picture myself whooshing over the busy streets of Delhi, riding my Firebolt and everyone looking and craning their necks to catch a glimpse of me.

This would make going to school so much more fun!


6) The Invisibility Cloak- Yes, friends. I have learned my lesson. I'm choosing to be the wise brother from the story and trying not to outsmart an infinity-year old being. Also, can you imagine the mischief you could get upto if you have the cloak, but nobody else knows about it? I'm gonna be making my sister's life hell...


7) Hermione's Charmed Purse- This would be, like the ultimate number one thing out of this list that my mom would actually approve of me having. Though TBH I'm pretty sure she's gonna want it for herself. I think this is one of the most handy, practical and functional thing from all of Harry Potter.



8) Fact Checking Quills- Not gonna say too much. Just that it is the most student-friendly magic innovation e v e r.


Now for the things I wouldn't want..

1) The Elder Wand- Admit it, this little thing created more problems than a glitching keyboard. I'd rather not provoke people's homicidal urges unnecessarily. Besides, if I wanted to kill someone, a regular wand would do the job just fine.


2) The Resurrection Stone- The book was pretty straight-forward when it said that using the Stone is a stupid thing to do because the person coming back from the dead wouldn't be the same as you remember them. They'll be more like a corporeal ghost than a real person, so I don't mean to be insensitive, but I don't really see that it really delivers on what it promises to do.

 

Let's Chat!

Alright guys, that was really fun! Tell me what are things out of this list that you would want! Did I miss any other good ones? Which of the 3 Deathly Hallows would you want? Let me in the comments.

Plus, if you thought this was fun and would like to do it for yourself, go right ahead! I'd love to see what everyone comes up with. But don't forget to link back to my post. 👍



So that was it for today,

Hope you have a wonderful day!

Bye!

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page