top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

BOOK TOUR- Just Pretend by Tori Sharp (4th June)


Heya readers! Today I’m so happy to be doing this book review as my first ever book tour! This is just a small leap in my blogging journey and I’m so excited to go much, much farther.


This post is part of a book tour, but that in no way sways my opinions.

Thank you so much to TBR AND BEYOND TOURS for giving me this opportunity.




Genre: Middle Grade Graphic Novel Publishing date: May 18th, 2021 Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository |

SYNOPSIS:

Fans of Real Friends and Be Prepared will love this energetic, affecting graphic memoir, in which a young girl uses her active imagination to navigate middle school as well as the fallout from her parents' divorce. Tori has never lived in just one world. Since her parents' divorce, she’s lived in both her mom’s house and her dad’s new apartment. And in both places, no matter how hard she tries, her family still treats her like a little kid. Then there’s school, where friendships old and new are starting to feel more and more out of her hands. Thankfully, she has books-and writing. And now the stories she makes up in her head just might save her when everything else around her—friendships, school, family—is falling apart. Author Tori Sharp takes us with her on a journey through the many commonplace but complex issues of fractured families, as well as the beautiful fantasy narrative that helps her cope, gorgeously illustrated and full of magic, fairies, witches and lost and found friendships.


 

My Review

Just Pretend is a beautiful and relatable graphic novel for anyone who is a creative or an introvert, perfect for fans of Eliza and Her Monsters and Fangirl.


It is pretty much a middle grade book but I still feel that a lot of YA readers will enjoy this.


It discusses everything from social anxiety and social awkwardness to introversion, dealing with parental conflict, love of books and writing.


The most spectacular thing about this was how closely I, personally was able to relate with and recognise so many of the things the protagonist (or, in this case, as this is a memoir, the author) goes through.

I had such fun reading this! Writing, and expressing myself through word, especially when I pick up a book, has always been the relief that I look to whenever I get overwhelmed. And just seeing that something like that in a story, it's awesome!


The artworks and the graphics were no less amazing. I haven't read a lot of graphic novels or comics before this, so I can't really critique anything about the drawings, but still to me they were incredible and a visual treat.


Surprisingly, for a character driven story, it is very fast moving and engaging with very flip of the page. I always wanted to keep going. The plot was very contained and yet evoked so many emotions. I felt like annotating every other page 😂.

Highly recommended picking this one up..!


MY RATING- 🌟🌟🌟🌟


 

THE AUTHOR



 

Yup, so that was my first ever book tour. Let me know what you thought of the book in the comments down below. I'd love to know any of your other recommendations, and if you'll be picking up this book anytime soon.


Hope everyone's doing well,

Until next time,

Bye!

29 views0 comments
bottom of page