top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

May 2021 Wrap Up- Hectic month, breezy reads

Heya bookworms!

So May, despite being a very busy month with the Ramadan going on and lots of holiday homework, was a strong reading month. I read a total of 8 books, all from a variety of different genres. There's fantasy, romance, YA contemporary....something for everyone, guys!

So be sure to tell me which you liked best in the comments.



 

1) If This Gets Out by Sophie Gonzales- This was one of my lucky five star of the month, and I am so happy that I got the chance to read this book! It is the story of two members of a famous boy band falling in love. It is the dream fanfic of every kpop fan, but with so much more complexity.


Read my full review for this book here.


One of my favourite things was the intense and up close behind the scene workings that that go on behind a single celebrity or project. I highly enjoyed this and I can't wait till it's released to everyone else can read it too.



2) Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng -I am sure many of you have already heard about this book but if you don't know here is the synopsis from Goodreads:


In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is planned--from the layout of the winding roads, to the colors of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principle is playing by the rules.


Enter Mia Warren--an enigmatic artist and single mother--who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenaged daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past and a disregard for the status quo that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.


When old family friends of the Richardsons attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town--and puts Mia and Elena on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Elena is determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs.


Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of secrets, the nature of art and identity, and the ferocious pull of motherhood--and the danger of believing that following the rules can avert disaster.


So it was kind of an unexpected read for me, and I never really know what to expect from it. Personally it did not just hit me as hard I was hoping, but I ended up really enjoying it anyway. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes to read non fiction or mysteries. I mean, I liked the characters...I enjoyed the plot and I could see the social commentary the author was making on some topics, but unfortunately I don't think I will be reading more from this author anytime soon.



3) Warcross by Marie Lu- After completing the Legends series by Marie Lu, and really liking it, I had been looking for more of a work to pick up, so I thought I'd just start something that's a finished series.

And to be honest, I secretly didn't have very high expectations for this book because a lot of people said that it's not one of the best works, but I ended up really enjoying it.

May was just a very stressful and hectic month for me, which is why I found myself gravitating towards more of the light-hearted, popcorn reads, if you will? And Warcross was just perfect for that. It's wild, fast-paced, action-packed, and set in a futuristic world where virtual reality gaming is all the rage. It also has a good romance as the cherry on top.



4) People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry- I think Emily Henry has become one of my auto- buy authors. Now again, this was just a light, fun romance to lift my spirits just when I needed it. It is a little cliche, with the perfect slow burn, best friend-to-lovers trope (that I adored!)


I just feel that there is something about Emily Henry's writing style that clicks with me. I also enjoyed her previous, Beach Read and this one didn't disappoint. Just puts a big smile on my face and I highly recommend picking this one up.




5) Heidi's guide to Four Letter Words by Tara Sivec- This is a splendid recommendation by one of my favourite book bloggers, Sumedha @ The Wordy Habitat. (Do check out her blog. It's amazing.)


Goodreads Description: Nothing good ever comes from drinking a box of wine alone. So when I decided to entertain my drunken self by setting up some hand-me-down podcasting equipment and reading the steamy parts from romance novels, I never thought anyone would actually listen. The fact that I admitted my huge crush on my sexy next door neighbor made the whole thing even more mortifying. But sometimes life surprises you, and that’s how my podcast, Heidi’s Discount Erotica, was born.


Now I, Heidi Larsen, a sweet former kindergarten teacher in Waconia, Minnesota, lead a scandalous double life reading erotic novels to the listening world. And with each episode, I find myself embracing my new alter ego more and more. Now I’m starting to feel more comfortable in my own skin and do things I never would have dreamed of - like kissing my neighbor.


Look out, Waconia, because Heidi’s on the loose! She’s in your ears, in your hearts, and down your pants...wait, that didn’t sound as good as it did in my head. Well, you get the picture, don’tcha know!


If you haven't guessed it from the synopsis already, this book is ridiculously fun! It's light-hearted and funny and our main character is the cutest, most precious human being!


It's not so much a romance as it is a story of identity, growth, discovering yourself, and being bold and comfortable in your own skin. It should be an instant at to your TBR.




6) Thunder Heist by Jed Herne- Another amazing read that I got as an ARC from NetGalley realy early on in May, and you can read my full review here.

Thunder Heist is a classic heist novel in every sense of the word. Its a fast moving, fun story with an entertaining cast of characters that'll keep you hooked to the very last page. Something I especially liked about it was how it upended the trend of the crew leader for a heist always being a man. This story had a strong, cut-throat female lead that has all the schemes and shenanigans up her sleeve.

It's a also the author's first self-published work, even though he has a lot of other books traditionally published. And so I'd like to point out the brilliant cover art and illustrations inside the book.

Definitely don't miss out on this read


7) You've Reached Sam by Dustin Thao- This was yet another ARC I got on NetGalley, and I would recommend it to all the fans of Fault In Our Stars and The Astonishing Color of After.

It's a beautiful, soulful story of the journey of a young girl's grief, along with struggling all the real life problems she has to deal with. It discusses a lot of important themes and would be relatable and helpful to anyone who's going through a tough time.


It has a touch of magical realism to it, and has all the right pushes and pulls to make your cry.


Read my full review here.


 

Let's Chat!

So how was your month of May, reading wise? Any good things that happened to you lately ? What were some of your Five star reads this month? Any surprisingly good or disappointing ones? Let me know in the comments!


Until then,

I hope yiu have a wonderful June,

Bye!




24 views0 comments
bottom of page