top of page
  • Writer's pictureAamna Rehman

Top 5 Wedenesday- Underhyped Stars

Updated: May 3, 2021

Hey bookworms! So today I'm will be doing my first ever Top 5 Wednesday Meme! And I'm so excited! I've seen so many book bloggers doing this and it sounds so much fun that I couldn't resist trying it out for myself.


Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by GingerReadsLainey and now managed by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

For more information on this meme, visit the Goodreads group.


The topic for this week is "Under-hyped Stars". So I will talk about some books that I love, but I think are underrated. And statistically speaking as well, a few of them have below average number of ratings on Goodreads. So here goes...



1) FIREBORNE by Rosaria Munda- If you've been following me on my blog or anywhere on social media, you will know that ever since this book came out, I have not been able to shut up about it. I first saw this book on Elliott Brooks' BookTube channel, but since then I haven't seen a ton of people talking about it on book blogs.


And I was quite surprised, to be honest, because I really liked it.

You can find my complete review for both the books currently out in the series FIREBORNE and FLAMEFALL.

So this book is set in a post-revolutionary world where two orphans, from the opposite sides of the revolution; Annie, the daughter of the oppressed, and Lee, the son of the oppressor/ corrupt government, who become best friends and compete for the same position of Dragonrider in the new, better government. Yes, people, I said ‘DRAGONS!”.

This is a political fantasy series that is masterful in its execution, flawless in its research, fantastic character work and examination.

Trust me when I say that you will not be able to put it down.

They watch us kneel, they see the back of our heads, and they think we've given in. They don't realize you can think from your knees just as well as from your feet.

Bring what fury you have and I will answer

 

2) THE DANGEROUS ART OF BLENDING IN by Angelo Surmelis- Sit up guys, because this is one of those books you will be needing a whole tissue box for.


Goodreads Description- Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn’t know where he fits in. His strict Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend Henry has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.


Tired, isolated, scared—Evan’s only escape is drawing in an abandoned church that feels as lonely as he is. And, yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it’s his best friend Henry who’s now proving to be irresistible. It’s Henry who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it’s Henry who makes him believe that he’s more than his mother’s harsh words and terrifying abuse. But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother’s abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by avoiding attention at all costs.


Content Warning- graphic physical abuse, domestic violence. This book is one hell of a heartbreaker, let me tell you. And not just because of the graphic scenes, but rather because of the truth in them.

I have seen it categorised as romance, but I feel like that undermines it a little because it is more about identity and healing and family than anything.

It discusses some pretty difficult topics... it's really heavy and emotional, and you would want to tear up in so many of the scenes.


I think that this is such an important read and so well done in all regards (a little slow in a spacing but I think it was intentional) and I think everyone should read it. Don't waste your time here. Just go and read this.

Here's the deal about never being authentically loved by your parents: The most fucked-up gesture or morsel of compassion is like a warm blanket.
 

3) HEIST SOCIETY by Ally Carter- So this is actually the most unique of the bunch I'll be talking about today because this is a YA contemporary heist novel.

Now, if you know me, you'll know that I am a huge fan of the heist genre, be it fantasy, or urban, or thrillers. Books like Six of Crows, The Last Magician, the Thunder Heist, Mistborn... all these are books that have heist as a sub- genre, and which I have read and loved. Soo you can imagine my delight when I found a heist that is YA contemporary.


I think that Ally Carter is a fairly popular author, but I don't think this is one of her better known series, since I've seen hardly anyone ever talking about it. And I don't know why?

Personally I think this series is fantastic!! Yes, it's ridiculous and impossible and crazy, but it's so much fun! Because sometimes, I think we just need a crazy, fun ride to enjoy. It's an actual group of teenagers (professional thieves but teenagers nonetheless) robbing museums auctions, and rich jerks.

And if I can just have a heist-like experience with such an amazing bunch of characters, even through the pages of a book, then I am DOWN FOR IT!

It's so cool 😍 If I had to write a blurb for it, I would go with, "Oceans 11 but with 2019 teenagers." I highly recommend picking up this series. Or at least the first two. I wasn't a huge fan of third.


It is an occupational hazard that anyone who has spent her life learning how to lie eventually becomes bad at telling the truth.

I'm the guy who happened to be home the night Kat came to steal a Monet.-Hale
 

4)FACE LIKE GLASS by Francis Hardinge- if you are ever in the mood for a refreshing and completely unique fantasy, particularly a standalone, then this is your fix. This story is a fresh take on the underground fairies, and the author creates a beautiful, bizarre world that is so much fun to explore!

It's very very different from other fantasies... unlike anything I've ever read, and I just loved it so much!


It takes a little time to really understand what's going on. For the first few chapters, you have no clue why is all the chaos happening and you just kind of have to be along for the ride, but bear with it because the payoff is amazing!

And it's not completely meandering too. Every incident contributes to the grand scheme of things. It's not just there for there's sake.


Also, our main character Neverfell is a delight! She's just... she is so precious and I love her! She is this relentlessly mischevious, curious and scrawny little girl who has a million questions in her head. She has always lived with her guardian, Cheesemaker Grandible, in the secluded caves in the underground world.


Zouelle had forgotten how tiring it was listening to a Neverfell at full pace, like being bludgeoned with exclamation marks.

She lay there with her eyes closed, as if sleep were a shy creature that might venture out if she played dead. But every time it seemed to be drawing closer, some loud thought would crash and blunder through the undergrowth, putting it to flight.
 

5) EVER THE HUNTED by Erin Summerill- This is one of those fantasy series that I wish had been a standalone. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book. It’s a classic bounty Hunter- romance trope, with a lot of fun banter and action sequences. When I read it, I thougt it was so under-appreciate, and I thought more and more people should it...but then I read the second book, which I didn’t hate per say, BUT I just didn’t enjoy it as much. It just felt really forced, and the plot was basically the main couple having problems, breaking up, entry of a useless, third guy and the main couple making up again. So saying that, I’d just like to keep it short with this last pick, and say that I highly recommend picking up this book. You can of course also read the rest of the series if you think that’s something you’ll enjoy, but if you take my word for it, I would say that read just the first book since it doesn’t really end with any loose ends or a big cliffhanger. it’s a nice contained story to read for fun.


Goodreads Description- Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.


However, it’s not so simple.


The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.



 

Let’s Chat!

Alright, so that was it for my post for today. Let me know if you enjoyed reading this! What are some of your underhyped book recommendation? What are some books that you absolutely love but think don’t get enough attention? I’d love to know your thoughts!

Until then,

I hope everyone is stating inside and staying safe,

Bye Bye!



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page